Luke Bitmead Bursary 2015 Shortlist Announced

31 Jul 2020

Legend Press are delighted to announce the nine shortlisted authors for the Luke Bitmead Bursary 2015. The winner will be selected by a judging panel including authors Katie Fforde and Sam Mills, Guardian journalist Marta Bausells, Luke Bitmead's family and Legend Press.


Set up in the memory of Legend Press' first novelist, who died aged 34, it has grown to be the UK's most successful prize for unpublished writers. The Award has launched the writing careers of a number of successful writers, including Ruth Dugdall, Andrew Blackman and Sophie Duffy.
Tom Chalmers, Managing Director of Legend Press, commented: "What started as a wonderful idea in Luke's memory and which celebrated his passion for supporting aspiring writers has developed into a fantastic prize which has given that all important first break to a large number of talented writers.
"The quality of entries this year was as high as ever and it was a very difficult task to limit the shortlist to nine unpublished novels. We are very excited about announcing the winner at the awards evening and working with another fantastic new writer."