Shortlist for 2013 Luke Bitmead Bursary announced

Shortlist for 2013 Luke Bitmead Bursary announced

31 Jul 2020

Legend Press are delighted to announce the 10 shortlisted authors for the 2013 Luke Bitmead Bursary. Set up in memory of Legend Press' first ever published novelist the award, now its sixth year, supports the work of struggling unpublished authors.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Central London on 7th November 2013. The winning author will receive £2500 and a publishing contract with Legend Press for 2014 for their submitted novel.

The 10 shortlisted authors are:

Alex Vargas - Trudy Mean
Andrew Stephen Hatch - Los Gigantes
Susan Gee - Getting Away With It
Paul White - Winter Daffodils
Paul Vates - Plot 51
Jo Gatford - Piecemeal
Fran Slater - Fierce Animals
Paul McMahon - Dead Reckoning
Liam Brown - Fade to White
Martin Cathcart Froden - Robert Anderson's Files

The award will be judged by Tom Chalmers, Lucy Chamberlain and Lauren Parsons from Legend Press, Luke's Mother Elaine Hanson and award-winning authors Sam Mills and Ruth Dugdall.

The Luke Bitmead Bursary was founded by Luke's family, in association with Legend Press, shortly after Luke's tragic death in 2006 at the age of just 34. Luke's book White Summer was the first novel to be published by Legend Press and Luke was one of the UK's most talented up-and-coming writers. Legend Press are delighted to be working with Luke's family to ensure that Luke's name and memory lives on. Previous winners of the award are: Andrew Blackman in 2008 for On the Holloway Road, Ruth Dugdall in 2009 for The Woman Before Me, Sophie Duffy in 2010 for The Generation Game, J.R. Crook in 2011 for Sleeping Patterns and Joanne Graham in 2012 for Lacey's House.